Florida

Florida

SHOPLIFTING LAWS DEFINED 

812.015 Retail and farm theft; transit fare evasion; mandatory fine; alternative punishment; detention and arrest; exemption from liability for false arrest; resisting arrest; penalties.—

(1) As used in this section:

(a) “Merchandise” means any personal property, capable of manual delivery, displayed, held, or offered for retail sale by a merchant.

(b) “Merchant” means an owner or operator, or the agent, consignee, employee, lessee, or officer of an owner or operator, of any premises or apparatus used for retail purchase or sale of any merchandise.

(c) “Value of merchandise” means the sale price of the merchandise at the time it was stolen or otherwise removed, depriving the owner of her or his lawful right to ownership and sale of said item.

(d) “Retail theft” means the taking possession of or carrying away of merchandise, property, money, or negotiable documents; altering or removing a label, universal product code, or price tag; transferring merchandise from one container to another; or removing a shopping cart, with intent to deprive the merchant of possession, use, benefit, or full retail value...

Read More

SHOPLIFTING CRIMINAL PENALTIES SUMMARY

By NOLO

ChargeClassificationPenalty
Shoplifting property with a total combined value of less than $100Second degree petit theft (second degree misdemeanor)Fines up to $500; up to 60 days in jail
Shoplifting property with a total combined value of $100 or more but less than $300; shoplifting property with a value of less than $100 if the person charged has previously been convicted once of any theftFirst degree petit theft (first degree misdemeanor)Fines up to $1,000; up to 1 year in jail
Second or subsequent conviction of petit theft shopliftingFirst or second degree petit theft (first or second degree misdemeanor)Fine between $50 and $1,000--court may substitute public service for fine; up to 60 days in jail or up to 1 year in jail
Shoplifting property with a total combined value of more than $300 and less than $20,000; or if the item taken is a firearm or certain other itemsThird degree grand theft (third degree felony)Fines up to $5,000; up to five years in prison
Shoplifting property with a total combined value of more than $20,000 and less than $100,000Second degree grand theft (second degree felony)Fines up to $10,000 and up to 15 years in prison
Shoplifting property with a total combined value of more than $100,000, or if in the course of a grand theft the offender causes damage to the real or personal property of another in excess of $1,000First degree grand theft (first degree felony)Fines up to $10,000 and up to 30 years in prison

Read More

PROFESSIONAL ASSISTANCE

You must not rely on the information on this website as an alternative to legal advice from your attorney or other professional legal services provider. If you have any specific questions about any legal matter you should consult your attorney or other professional legal services provider.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment

You must be Logged in to post a comment.